Skip to content

Dad doesn’t have to imagine anymore…..

October 25, 2012

 

I've always loved the song I Can Only Imagine, but with my dad being in heaven now, it has an all new meaning for me.

 

I can only imagine

What it will be like

When I walk

By Your side

I can only imagine

What my eyes will see

When Your face

Is before me

This song makes me think hard about what it will be like when I see Jesus……

Before my dad died, I always thought of heaven as a beautiful place where Jesus is, the place where I'll spend eternity worshipping my Lord.

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel

Will I dance for You Jesus or in awe of you be still

Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I

fall

Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all


But now, heaven takes on a whole new meaning. Not only will I be with my Savior, I'll be with my dad.

I can only imagine

When that day comes

And I find myself

Standing in the sun

I can only imagine

When all I will do

Is forever

Forever worship You


When my dad first passed away, I was filled with so much sorrow and I couldn't imagine moving on without him, and yet now, now my mind is filled with beautiful images of my dad falling to his knees before Jesus .



I imagine him worshipping Jesus, healthy and complete, with a beautiful smile on his face.

I'm so thankful that God has replaced my sorrow with precious images of my dad worshipping Jesus.

And though this Sunday marks one year since my dad went to be with the Lord, I can look at that date with rejoicing.

I can be happy for my sweet dad that he's been in glory, worshipping Jesus for a whole year now, and that he's been spared the sorrow that has accompanied my life this year.

Like the song says, I can only imagine what it will be like when I walk by Jesus' side, and when I think of that, I imagine Jesus on one side and my dad on the other.

And we'll never have to say good bye…..

Walter, my hero and my dad~1949 – 2011

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 12:19 am

    I have always loved that song too! So thankful to know that your Dad IS WITH Jesus!!

Leave a Reply

