Skip to content

Suffering….with joy

October 4, 2012

 

Suffering. Joy.

 

Those two words just don't seem to go together, do they? That's what I've always thought, anyway.

 

But now, now I see it differently.

 

 

I never understood it before. Never quite understood how one could say that they've found how to be joyful in their suffering. Quite frankly, I used to think people were nuts when I heard them say that.

 

But as I've walked through what's been the hardest, most heartbreaking season of my life, I get it.

 

And I've learned that its not necessarily something you choose to do, but it's moreso something you learn–through experience.

 

 

It's a heart posture before God, one that says, ” Though I don't like this season I'm in, and most certainly wouldn't have chosen it, I know that God is good and sovereign, and I can trust Him that he will use this season for my good and for His glory.”

 

It's coming to a place—even in the pain—where we can say with assurance that we trust God. That no matter where this season may take us, we trust him to get us through.

 

It's realizing that he can and will use our pain to bring beauty from the ashes…..

 

 

Not for a minute does it mean that we should be doing cart wheels and screaming “WHOOPEE!” when the trials come.

 

Nor should we expect to feel happy and care free….

 

But we can know the peace which passes ALL understanding, when we surrender our heart and our will to his sovereign plan.

 

 

And when the tears won't stop falling and the trials continue to come, we can look to God and know that he sees every tear.

 

 

We can have the Hope that these trials are only for a season, and that JOY will come in the morning.

 

2 Corinthians 4:16-18

16 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

17 For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison,

18 as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

 

** I'm linking up with Ann Voskamp today as she discusses how to find joy in the suffering….www.aholyexperience.com

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2012 9:13 pm

    Patty, This is so beautifully expressed. I am in the middle of reading 1000 Gifts and am also recovering from the loss of my husband from cancer a year ago. Your words touched me and were just exactly what has been on my mind for the last couple of days. Your words were a confirmation for me.

    It is our hope in Him that can carry us through the difficult times and trials. Knowing that in the long run He will turn our mourning into dancing.

    I pray that His grace carries you through this season of sorrow.

    Thank you for your post and the beautiful scripture verses that fit so perfectly.

    Blessings to you!
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

