Skip to content

Better than life….

September 5, 2012

 

Psalm 63:3~

Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.


As I was driving last night, the song Better Than Life by Remedy Drive came on the radio. As I listened, I was struck by the irony of the song.

I began to really think about what it means to say that God's love is better than life. I mean, I'd heard the verse before in Psalm 63, and always thought it sounded nice, but never really gave it much thought.

Until now.

As I walk through probably the hardest season of my life, I can honestly say that i now understand that verse.

 

You see, through this difficult season, never have I stopped loving my family, my friends, or my God, but there have been many a day when I haven't loved my life. Days when I'd give anything to change what's happening.

 
 
 

But as I've walked though this season, I have learned that God's love IS better than life. His love has sustained me through this season, and not once has he let me go.

 

Time and time again, he has shown me his steadfast love. And on the days when stepping out of my bedroom seems like more than I can do, he uses a kind word from my husband or an encouraging email from a friend to remind me that he will carry me through the day.

 

It's on those days when a hug from one of my kids speaks volumes to remind me that God is good, even when life is hard.

 

Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.

How sweet of God to once again use a difficult season to teach me valuable truths that will carry me through the rest of my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

