Skip to content

The Redeemer of time……

August 23, 2012

Many times over the past 8 months I have read and reread the book, The Misery of Job and the Mercy of God, by John Piper. Each time, it ministers to my aching heart and reminds me of God’s faithfulness.

But this morning, something different stood out to me….something that I’ve read before, yet didn’t fully feel the impact of.

I was reading where Job is sharing with his little girl, jemimah, how God had abundantly restored to him all that he lost, above and beyond what Job could’ve ever imagined.

I decided to look up Jobs story, and here’s what I read today…..

Job 42:1-6

1 Then Job answered the LORD and said:

2 “I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.

3 ‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.

4 ‘Hear, and I will speak; I will question you, and you make it known to me.’

5 I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you;

6 therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.”

As I read this, it was all I could do not to weep.

As I look back over the course of the past 8-10 months, i am hit by the reality of the huge amount of loss that’s hit our family.

And I’m aware of one wave after another knocking us off of our feet and how we’re barely keeping our heads above the water.
And yet, as I read this passage, God knew. He knew what I needed to hear, and he knew that I needed to hear it today.
He knows that my heart is heavy and my spirit is weak and that there are days when I just don’t think I can take one. more. step.
He used this passage today to show me that he can redeem what I have lost. And he CAN and WILL restore what’s been broken.
And not only that, but like with Job, He can restore above and beyond what I could ever imagine.
So, do I think there are blue skies and smooth sailing ahead? No. I’m smarter than that. But I do know that I serve a faithful and loving God who’s Word is true, and I can count on him to do what he has promised.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

