Skip to content

Being content in the “here” and now…

August 3, 2012

 

Life seldom takes us where we think we want to be,but rather we face twists and turns in the road, along with pain, sorrow, and defeat.

 

We can desperately long for something different–a change, if you will–but that may or may not come.

 

And so, we are the left with the question of “what do I do with the here and now?”. The Bible calls us to be content in every situation, and I've learned that doesn't mean jumping for joy when pain hits. It means coming to a place in my heart where I am confident that God will meet me here.

 

But there are times when I admit that the contentment isn't there. When all I want is for the pain to go away and for life to be fresh and new once again. I know God sees my heart and he knows my pain and he can handle my struggle with being content.

 

And I know that in his time he will meet me here.

 

*** I'm linking up for five minute Friday…..today's word was “here”

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2012 5:49 am

    It’s so true– I hate those times when I KNOW that I should be content, but I just can’t seem to muster it up.

    Lovely, encouraging thoughts.

  2. August 3, 2012 5:51 am

    yes!

    so often we’re gazing so long at the rearview mirror that we miss the joys and blessings of what’s right in front of us …

  3. August 3, 2012 5:58 am

    Jumped over from Lisa Jo;s and love that you know He will meet you today just where you are!

    Blessings, Beth

  4. August 3, 2012 12:32 pm

    It is always difficult to praise him in the storms of life, but (with hindsight being 20/20) you find the greatest blessings after those storms have passed.

    Praying God finds you where you are today!

  5. August 4, 2012 5:38 pm

    Such a hard thing to learn and practice. Hopped over from Lisa-Jo’s.

Leave a Reply

