Skip to content

the joy dare: joy is a choice

July 16, 2012

 

 

 

I'm learning more and more that joy is not a feeling and it doesn't come naturally.

 

You don't just wake up one morning and realize that, ” hey, I'm now full of joy!”

 

I'm learning that joy is a choice and that it can only truly be found in Jesus.

 

I'm realizing that this painful journey I've been on this past year has taught me a lot about what joy really is, and what it's not.

 

And I think I'm going to take some time over the next few weeks to share what God has been showing me.

 

But for now, I'm going to share some places where I've found joy this past week…..I'm linking up today for the JOY dare.

 

….encouraging words of Truth from a dear friend

 

….my husbands tender smile of affection, showing that he understands my pain…

 

….Starbucks Mocha Coconut frapp….I know I've shared this before,but it's worth repeating! 🙂

 

….”look Mom, no more training wheels!”

 

….a Sunday message delivered with a fervency and passion that's both contagious and inspiring!

 

….an early morning walk, just me and God and the beauty of nature

 

….the privilege of planning another year of home school for my kids

 

….an upcoming girls weekend planned with my sweet mom!

 

….long, loose curls hanging down a sweet girls back–tangle free!

 

….Philippians 4:13~ “I CAN do ALL things through HIM who strengthens me!”

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2012 9:20 pm

    Loved this post, Patty! I wish we could wake up and think, “hey, I’m now full of joy!” But you are right that it isn’t that way. Raising 5 kids is hard work….I know you can relate. 🙂 But many times the stress of it can steal my joy. I can’t let that happen. I must choose to live a joyful and simple life walking with my Savior.

Leave a Reply

