Skip to content

Seeing beyond the circumstances…..

July 1, 2012

I went to church this morning with a heavy heart.

Rather than going with the anticipation of worshiping God and having him meet me, I went with my eyes on my circumstances.

My eyes weren’t on how big my God is, but rather on how big my troubles are right now.

As I stood there during worship, I listened to the words of the songs, and I prayed them from my heart, but I couldn’t bring myself to sing them out loud….

I wanted to sing, but the tears wouldn’t allow…..

My heart was heavy and my load weighing me down like a ton of bricks,crushing me.

Thankfully, God doesn’t leave us alone in our trials….no, he sees every one of them and he feels our pain.

And he often uses others to brings the words of encouragement that we so desperately need to hear.

That’s what he did for me today….he brought two very special friends across my path to speak truth to me and to help me see that I’m not walking this hard road alone.

And through their kind words and their listening ears, I was fed. I was met by God.

This shouldn’t surprise me, because this is how God works, how he’s met me many, many times before.

I spent a bit of time reading an excerpt from Jerry Bridges book, Trusting God, and in a short time was reminded of how God uses trials to grow us.

I was especially struck by the reminder that my eyes need to be on God and on his promise to complete the work he has begun in me—in his time, and for his glory.

God is good, even when life is hard.

My circumstances don’t change who God is.

And He is faithful, even when my faith is small…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

