Skip to content

He can’t be anything but faithful……

June 12, 2012

 

As I was reading through Psalm 27 this morning, I was struck by verse 1….

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

 

This verse brought me back to times past when God has been my stronghold.

 

I can look back and I can see where he has carried me through and how he has never let me go.

 

 

I can clearly see how his hands carried me through my dad’s 9 year journey through alzheimers, and the way he guided me through the darkness of depression.

 

He was clearly my stronghold when we thought our middle daughter wasn’t going to be born and again when we lost the twin of our sweet curly girl….

 

 

Even in the midst of my current trial, I can know that he’s there…..carrying me and gently guiding me through the fire, without allowing me to get burned.

 

I may not feel him there right now, and there may be days when I wonder if he’s really going to work this all out for good..

 

 

And there are times when I have nothing to say to him, when I am empty and dry…..

 

But even in those times, I can be sure that he’s there and that he’s my stronghold…..

 

 

How do I know that? How can I be sure?

 

 

Because all I have to do is look back and I will see his faithfulness time and time again.

 

And you know what else? Just this morning, God helped me to see that he can’t be anything but faithful. He can’t be anything but good, because he is God and God is love.

 

That’s Who he is and that’s what he’s characterized by—and that will never change.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

