Skip to content

the hunt for joy…..

May 21, 2012

 

On Monday’s, I usually link up with Ann for the joy dare.

 

It’s a great way to remind myself to look around and see the many blessing God has given to me—and usually, I don’t have to look too far.

 

But right now, my friends, I can assure you that I’m struggling to find the joy.

 

I know that God is good and I know that he loves me and I know that I love him.

 

But I have to tell you, right now I’m just not feeling it.

 

I have tasted and sen that God is good, and I believe it with all my heart.

 

But right now, life hurts.

 

There are things that I just don’t “get” and things that I want to wish away and things that I simply hate, but I can’t do anything about it.

 

I read the Word and it’s as if it is falling on deaf ears right now. I don’t know the joy that it usually brings me.

 

It’s as if I’m on a spinning merry-go-round and it just won’t stop. I can see those i love, and I can see my responsibilities and my needs, but I can’t stop the ride no matter how hard I try. And quite frankly, I emotionally and physically exhausted.

 

I love God. I trust God. But right now, I’m numb and I’m simply waiting for him to restore.

 

My gratitude list is going to be a bit different today. But even in the midst of heartache and pain, I am choosing to find the good.

 

 

 

….my greatest need was already met on the cross

 

….the never ending loads of laundry mean that I’m blessed to have a family to care for

 

….the meals that need cooked mean that I have the means to provide healthy meals for my family

 

….the errands that need to be run are a reminder that I have a reliable vehicle that gets me where I need to go

 

….the fighting children are definitely a reminder that I have the awesome privilege of pointing them to Jesus

 

….the exhaustion makes me thankful for my comfy bed

 

….the need to talk and share reminds me of the wonderful people God has placed in my life

 

….the exhaustion points me to where my Strength truly comes from

 

….the LAST day of school is a sweet reminder that summer is on the way!

 

….and last but not least, I’m thankful for my amazing husband, who has time for me no matter what.

One Comment leave one →
  1. KatherinesDaughter permalink
    May 22, 2012 10:17 am

    Hope you are doing ok…I have these days too as well. Gratitude is the answer and that is what you’re doing.

Leave a Reply

