Skip to content

thanking mom…..

May 9, 2012

I’m joining Ann Voskamp as we say “thank you” to our moms, for simply being mom……

 

 

This is dedicated to my mom….my hero and my friend….I love you.

 

 

Mom, when I think of you, the word sacrifice comes to mind…

 

For as long as I can remember, you were always sacrificing in order to care for our family.

 

 

 

Often times, you were the one to carry the load as Dad worked side jobs in order to provide for our family.

 

You were always there to make sure justin and I were fed and cared for, and you always had time to meet our needs.

 

 

Unfortunately, I didn’t realize until I had children of my own the depth of the sacrifices you made.

 

Not until I experienced the heartache of watching my kids struggle and make mistakes, did I truly understand the depth of your love.

 

 

And it wasn’t until I knew the love of a wonderful, faithful man did I truly understand the depth of your love for Dad…

 

Watching you stand by his side during his nine-year journey with Alzheimer’s exemplified a love that spoke volumes to my heart….

 

 

I saw the pain and the turmoil that you went through as you watched him slip away, yet you never gave up on him

 

You were faithful to the end–until death do us part–and you honored him until his dying breath.

 

 

I am proud to be your daughter, honored to be your friend, and thankful to know your love.

 

I can only hope to honor my husband the way you’ve honored yours, and I can only hope to love my kids with the sacrificial love you’ve shown to me.

 

I love you, Mom….Happy Mothers Day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 1:59 pm

    Thank you so much, Patty, for sharing your tribute here to your mother. What a beautiful writing for her and you as you reread this. The pictures are so beautiful and fit so well with the post. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

