Skip to content

far more abundantly…..

April 29, 2012

Ephesians 3:20 Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us,

21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

 

As I sat in church this morning, listening to a message on “doubt” I was struck by the irony of it all.

 

I mean, seriously, how kind of God to give this message to my pastor, on a Sunday following a week of what seemed like hell.

 

 

And yet, God knew.

 

He knew what I needed to hear on this Sunday morning.

 

 

 

 

 

And he used the words of a man we love and admire to speak his promises to my heart.

 

 

 

 

as the message was brought to a close, he shared the words of Ephesians 3:20-21…..

 

It is a passage that I’ve heard time and time again, and yet this time it landed differently on my ears……

This time, the words more abundantly than all we ask or think resonated with my soul.

It was as if the Lord was speaking right to me, telling me to leave my doubts with him. To bring them to his feet, and leave them there—over and over again.
He was showing me that I have no reason to worry or doubt, because he is willing and ABLE to do far more abundantly than all I ask or think…..

Not only can he do what I ask of him, but he can do more….he knows the needs I have right now, and he can fill those needs in ways I can’t even imagine.
And quite honestly, that truth boggles my mind…

I am amazed at the love my Savior has for me……

 

I am amazed that he would use this passage to be like balm to my weary soul…….

 

And I am grateful beyond words, that I can trust him to fill my every need……..

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2012 7:55 pm

    So awesome, Patty! I LOVE how personal our God is. He speaks right to our hearts, doesn’t He? His love for His children is so amazing…

    • April 29, 2012 9:20 pm

      Katie, you’re right, our God is personal and he knows our needs before we even tell him! I’m so thankful for the gift of you and josh and the way God has used you two to bless our lives….

Leave a Reply

