Skip to content

dear dad, it’s been 6 months…..

April 28, 2012

 

It’s hard to believe that it’s been 6 months since my dad went to be with Jesus…..

 

If I could write him a letter, there’s so much I would say to him.

 

 

I would tell him the events of the past six months, and how my world has been turned upside down.

 

I would tell him that there have been dark days, and days when I just don’t feel as if I can put one foot in front of the other……

 

 

And I would tell him how my heart broke when I had to tell him good-bye, and how i then had to say a different kind of good-bye just three short months later…one that nearly tore my heart out.

 

I would go on to tell him about the tears I’ve shed and the pain I’ve known, and how I miss him so much it hurts.

 

 

I would share with him that he was the best dad and that I am proud to be his daughter, and i would thank him for the legacy of faithful prayer that he has left for me and my family.

 

And I would tell him that I love him more than life itself.

 

 

There are so many things I’d long to say, and things I’d love to hear his input on…..

 

But more than anything, I’d want him to know how much I love my God……

 

I would want him to know that on those days when things arereally dark, God is there.

 

 

And I would tell him that when I had to tell him good-bye, I had the hope of seeing him again someday–because of what my Jesus has done for us on the cross…..

 

I would tell him that through the tears and the intense pain, Jesus has been my Comforter–my Rock and my Shield.

 

 

I would thank him for faithfully telling me about Jesus and for living a life that represented and honored our God……

 

I would thank him for the sacrifices he made to send my brother and i to a Christian school, and for making sure I was hearing the word of God daily.

 

 

I would tell him that through the stormy times when the waves are crashing against me, that Jesus has been my faithful Anchor and he has never let me go…….

 

And I would thank him for constantly reminding me that Jesus NEVER fails.

 

 

I would go on to tell him that I miss him, but that I’m happy for him, because he’s with our Lord……

 

And I would tell him that I can’t wait to run into his arms when we’re reunited in heaven.

 

 

There’s so many things that I long to tell my dad, and I’d give anything to hear his voice…..

 

And I can almost hear him—as he tells me through his tears—that he’s so thankful that I love God and that I’ve found my hope in Him…

 

 

Oh, and there’s one more thing that I’d have to tell him–something that would bring him much joy—I’d tell him that I spent yesterday afternoon cuddling my brown-eyed-girl….

Yeah, dad, that’s right, my baby has come home……….

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2012 1:57 pm

    Keep Loving! -Jenn 😀

Leave a Reply

