Skip to content

The storm rages…..

April 26, 2012

 

As I’ve hit yet another storm, I am aware that this one seems evens worst than the last.

It’s as if I’m in a boat, and the waves are hitting the sides of the boat, tossing me to and fro.

I try to hang on, but my fingers can barely grasp onto anything, and my feet are unsteady and sliding everywhere.

The winds seem to drown out everything else, other than the sound of the waves, which seem to get bigger by the minute.

I am reminded of Jesus, calming the storm for his disciples, and yet I’m wondering when this storm is going to cease.

I know he’s here—he’s in the boat with me—and yet, I can’t hear him over the noise all around.

I know he won’t let me go, though I wonder if the boat will capsize, allowing the waves to pull me under.

He can rescue me, and I believe he will—but when?

I’m longing for the moment when I can hear him say, “peace, be still……” and the storm begins to cease.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 2:26 pm

    Oh Patti, I am praying for you today dear friend. As I read this post, the song “How Firm A Foundation” came to mind:

    How firm a foundation, you saints of the Lord
    Is laid for your faith in his excellent word
    What more can he say than to you he has said
    To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled.

    Fear not, I am with you, O be not dismayed
    For I am your God and will still give you aid
    I’ll strengthen you, help you, and cause you to stand
    Upheld by my righteous omnipotent hand.

    When through the deep waters I call you to go
    The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow
    For I will be with you, your troubles to bless
    And sanctify to you your deepest distress.

    When through fiery trials your pathway shall lie
    My grace all sufficient shall be your supply
    The flame shall not hurt you, I only desire
    Your dross to consume and your gold to refine

    The soul that on Jesus has leaned for repose
    I will not, I will not desert to his foes
    That soul though all hell should endeavor to shake
    I’ll never, no never, no never forsake!

    • April 29, 2012 9:24 pm

      Thank you, elisabeth….what an appropriate song for this season of my life. I appreciate your kind words…..

  2. April 29, 2012 7:49 pm

    I have found that it’s best to let go of the railing and go curl up next to Jesus, knowing that he is not unaware of the storm and will act when the time is right.

    • April 29, 2012 9:22 pm

      What a beautiful image that makes in my mind, mary…thank you for sharing….so thankful for you.

Leave a Reply

