Skip to content

so many good-byes….

April 13, 2012

 

 

Over the course of the past six months, there has been one thing I’ve done often—I’ve said good-bye.

 

I never dreamed of the good-byes that would face me, but God knew, and he has walked me through each one.

 

 

 

Just 5 short months ago, I said good-bye to my hero—my sweet dad. I held his hand, and through tears that wouldn’t stop falling, I told him I love him, and I said good-bye.

 

The pain was agonizing, yet the hope that we will be together again one day has carried me through.

 

 

This past January brought another good-bye, though this one unexpected.

 

I said good-bye as my firstborn walked away from me, from our family and our home, to live life her way….

 

 

In the months that have followed her leaving, I have had to say good-bye to many of the dreams that I had for her…

 

I said good-bye to the reality that I will no longer be graduating my first home schooler this may, and I won’t be celebrating with her as she throws her graduation cap in the air as she walks down the aisle.

 

 

There have been other dreams, now gone, that I have had to grieve and say good-bye to…..

 

And all the while, God has held me and promised me that he will never say good-bye.

 

**i’m linking up today with Lisa jo for five minute Friday…..

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 7:18 am

    I lost my mom five years ago…and it is so hard to lose a parent. I won’t pretend to know how you are feeling, but I can relate and my heart breaks for you friend in understanding that pain. I am praying for your daughter…that seems incrediably hard. I have two sons only 2 and 4 so I certainly do not know what that is like. Praying for God to continue to be your comfort as you trust him with your heart and feelings in these “loved ones and things” you are having to say goodbye to.

    • April 13, 2012 1:47 pm

      Dionne, thank you for your kind, caring comment. I am sorry to hear of your loss as well….you’re right, losing a parent is so very hard. Blessings….

  2. a simple princess permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:20 am

    goodbye’s are so hard…praise God you will see your dad again one day!
    i don’t know much of the background with your oldest daughter (i have only been reading your blog for a few weeks) but know that there is always hope….your heart for your children is so evident and i know that if it had not been for the heart that my mom and dad had…i too would still be running. i ran at 16 to a life of my own and through much prayer of my parents….almost 20 years of storming the heaven’s with prayer…i came running back into the arms of Jesus. now i am praying….praying hard for my oldest three, who were never raised in a godly home and have only seen this “new” mom for the last 6 years
    blessings

    • April 13, 2012 1:49 pm

      A simple princess,
      Thank you so much for sharing a bit of your heart and life with me. What a joy it is to hear that you were a “prodigal come home”! God is so faithful!

  3. Anita S permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:51 am

    Goodbyes are especially hard when they are involuntary. I pray God’s blessings for you for all the goodbyes and for the future.

    • April 13, 2012 1:50 pm

      Anita,
      Thank you so much for visiting my blog today! I so appreciate your kid words and your prayers…..

  4. April 13, 2012 8:53 am

    Saying good-bye is heartbreaking… But I am so thankful that good-byes don’t have to be FINAL– because we have such a beautiful promise in Christ. Praise the Lord for that eventual reunion 🙂

  5. Nita permalink
    April 13, 2012 12:37 pm

    Goodbyes are hard. When a loved one goes home. When a child leaves our home. It’s hard, I pray you always feel God’s presence and love. God will show you the open doors, and maybe soon your oldest will walk back through one of them. 🙂 Quilted blessings, Nita

  6. April 13, 2012 2:42 pm

    i’m so sorry for your losses…both life and the celebrations. goodbye can be like a closed door…but sometimes an open one lurks around the bend. i hope it is so for you!

Leave a Reply

