Skip to content

the domino effect….

February 25, 2012

20120224-155835.jpg

lately, I have felt as though I couldn’t be more undisciplined if I tried.

it’s as if I begin to slack in one area, followed by the next area, and then before I know it, I am not seeing a whole lot of structure in my life–at all.

20120224-162744.jpg

But rather, I am seeing a domino effect…..I start to slack in one area—say in the area of exercise–and the next thing I know, I’m not eating well, I’m not structuring our school day well…

And the list goes on.

With everything that has been going on in our family in the last 6 weeks, I have been wanting to keep things flexible, yet structured.

However, I’ve failed at the structured part.

Things are getting done, but there’s chaos along with the progress, and it makes me crazy. My kids have played more wii and Webkinz this past month than I’d like to admit, and though I know its NOT the end of the world, it’s not what I want for them.

I want them to see that, though there is stress and trial in our lives right now, God is sovereign and we can have order in our home—while being flexible.

All that to say that I am making some changes—and I’d love your prayers along the way.

Starting on Monday, I want to start our day by mommy being up and ready before the kids are up. I am so much more productive that way, and it allows for us to start school on time, rather than mommy being up getting ready when it’s time for school to start.

I also want to start eating healthy again.. Some of you know that I lost 40 pounds 2 years ago doing weight watchers. I felt so good while I was following weight watchers, because I was eating healthy and keeping track of my food intake . Well, let’s just say that in the past 6 weeks, healthy eating for me has consisted of chocolate, and LOTS of it. Thankfully, I haven’t gained any weight, but I’m feeling the effects of unhealthy eating.

I ordered myself a weight watchers points calculator and plan to start keeping track of my eating as soon as it comes….and if I happen to lose a few more pounds in the process, even better!

More than anything, I just want to honor God by using my time wisely. I want to be a good steward of the time he’s given me and I want my kids to benefit from what they see in me.

I know we need flexible structure right now without a lot of changes being made…anything other than that wouldn’t serve our family during this season.

Would you pray with me that I’d be able to make these little changes? I know they will not only help me to feel better, but I would be able to serve my family better as well.

Thank you for praying….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Velle permalink
    February 25, 2012 5:29 am

    I just had one of those weeks, too! Mostly because I packed a lot in, and so couldn’t get on top of my list. But what you said about the domino effect struck a chord – yes! It IS all related! Mediocrity IS catching! And once the schedule is derailed, it can get doubly hard to regain control of the week.

    Anyhoo – from one mother to another, I’m praying for ya! Please pray for me, too!

    • February 25, 2012 3:49 pm

      i will pray for you, velle. thank you for your comment.
      God bless….

  2. February 27, 2012 3:06 pm

    Praying for you, Patty. As a mom, I can totally relate. Praying for God’s grace as you seek to use your time wisely and wake up before the kids. These are two things I need to focus on, too.

    • February 27, 2012 3:39 pm

      Sandra,
      Thank you for your comment and your prayers. I look forward to seeing you on thursday…

Leave a Reply

