Skip to content

living in “the now”…..

February 21, 2012

there are days when I feel as though the storm will never lift. Like the rain will never stop coming down and things will always be this way.

it’s as if I’ve been looking out the window for days, seeing the dark clouds, watching the rain come down, and knowing that it’s not supposed to stop anytime soon.

20120221-113851.jpg

and through this season of dark clouds and pouring rain, I can easily find myself going down the roads of “what if” and “if only”.

i can go so far down those roads that it’s hard to find my way back. I can wonder if only
I had done this, or if only I had done that, then maybe, just maybe our lives would be different right now.

maybe my kids wouldn’t have broken hearts and maybe my mind wouldn’t be racing 24/7 trying to figure things out….only to come up empty at the end of the day.

20120221-114434.jpg

i’m so thankful that God doesn’t leave me to my own means of surviving the storm. But rather, he stays right by my side and he never lets me go.

and before I have wandered to far down those long sad roads, he gently leads me back…to Him.

20120221-114941.jpg

he leads me away from the mud and the mire and he brings me in out of the rain.

he showers me with his loving kindness and reminds me that I belong to him.

20120221-115142.jpg

he lovingly helps me to see that he doesn’t want me to live in the “what ifs” or the “if onlys”, but he wants me to live in the here and now—where he is.

it’s in the here and now where he wants to teach me and grow me and make me more like him.

and that might mean weeks—or even months— of watching the storm and trying to keep from being drenched from the rain

20120221-115521.jpg

but whatever it means for me, I know that the result will be beautiful flowers in the spring–and spring WILL come.

i am learning that instead of trying to avoid the rain, I need to reach my hand out and let it come.

i need to feel the rain and allow it to wash over me and refresh my weary soul……

20120221-115816.jpg

levititicus 26:4~. then I will give you your rains in their season, and the land shall yield its increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.

Join us for Gratituesday at Heavenly Homemakers!

.

would you consider voting for me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 11:17 pm

    Beautiful choice in photos, they match your words perfectly. I am so encouraged by your faithfulness to our Lord and how you take your pain & give it to Him. Love ya, friend!

  2. February 22, 2012 2:31 pm

    Rebecca,
    Thank you for your sweet comment. I am so thankful for your friendship, and I thank God for sustaining our friendship, even through the many miles that separate us! Love you too, friend!

Leave a Reply

