Skip to content

multitudes on mondays: grace for the broken-hearted

February 20, 2012

20120220-081007.jpg

another monday morning, the start to a new week.

We had a full, yet relaxing weekend, full of family time and just getting things done.

But no matter how busy I seem to keep, there’s a sadness looming in my soul.

20120220-081815.jpg

it’s a sadness over what’s been lost and an uncertainty of what lies ahead.

a grief over wanting to change what was in hopes of making tomorrow better.

I try to keep busy so that I am not consumed with the thoughts, the memories, and the overwhelming sadness, but sometimes, no matter how hard I try, I can’t escape it all.

20120220-082250.jpg

but I’m realizing something.

through the sorrow and the pain, I am ever aware of the love of my Savior.

He continues to meet me through music and through his Word.

20120220-082515.jpg

And through the chaos in my heart, he is the One who breaks through.

He’s helping me to see that it’s okay to be sad and that grief is normal and necessary.

But even more importantly than that, he keeps reminding me that he is my Joy and the lifter of my head…..

.Psalm 3:3
But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.
Psalm 3:2-4 (in Context) Psalm 3 (Whole Chapter)

**i’m linking up with Ann today as we continue to count his many gifts…..

…chic-fil-a on a Friday night with the family
…friends who often know my heart better than I do…and they aren’t afraid to tell me
…a man who still makes my heart skip a beat when he walks through the door
…a fresh start to eating healthy
…a sunday afternoon spent with friends
….a mild winter
…flowers on the table in the middle of winter
…a sweet 11-year-old who is gracing us with her ability to make pancakes
…a lazy president’s day…..ahhhhhh
…blogging

 

would you consider voting for me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 4:09 pm

    He continues to meet me through music and through his Word. He is always there with us, isn’t He. Grateful to hear through your difficult time you are feeling His love. The flowers are so pretty. A man who still makes my heart skip a beat when he walks through the door… aww… that is so sweet!

    • February 20, 2012 5:01 pm

      Jennifer,

      Thank you so much for your comment and for visiting my blog today.

  2. February 21, 2012 4:54 am

    Patty,

    I just wanted to say I found your blog through Ann’s blog, and I love you.

    Living with a brokenheart is not easy. I am thankful that God promises to be close to the brokenhearted.

    I am walking the road of grief with you. Just wanted you to know you are not alone.

    Love,
    Tammy

    • February 21, 2012 3:01 pm

      Tammy,thank you so much for your kind and caring response on my blog. I appreciate it more than you know. If theres one thing I love about the blogging world is that I can make friends with people Ive never met, and yet have a connection that’s heartfelt!.

  3. February 21, 2012 7:28 am

    visiting from ann’s…
    what a work God is doing in your heart and home.
    prayers that this tender grief ,growth, and season will yield a rich harvest for His kingdom and your family.

    • February 21, 2012 3:02 pm

      Laura, thank you for visiting my blog today and for leaving such a kind comment. Please visit again!

Leave a Reply

