Skip to content

the way things are…..

February 17, 2012

20120216-145447.jpg

as I sat down for my quiet time this morning, I found myself looking around my living room and just taking it all in.

there across the room sat the basket of dirty laundry that I never did get around to washing yesterday, and next to that was a pile of toys that didn’t get put away last night.

20120216-150058.jpg

i thought of a few things that I had intended to do lately, but hadn’t quite gotten around to it and the plans that were ahead of me this very day…..

a few months ago, all of this would’ve caused me to feel anxious….

i would’ve have felt like a failure as a wife and mom because I was behind on things and my house was a mess.

20120216-150746.jpg

but today, those things didn’t bother me.

no, they didn’t bother me at all.

you see, I’ve learned something in the past few weeks.

i’ve learned that it’s not the clean, tidy house and the laundry folded and put away that my kids are going to remember when they’re all grown up.

and they won’t remember the meals that weren’t ready right on time and the fact that we didn’t start school at exactly the same time everyday.

they aren’t going to care if mommy’s hair was perfectly styled before they got up in the morning, and make up painted on just right.

i’m realizing these days that there are more important things than all that stuff I mentioned above….there’s mommy taking the time to stop and listen when my kids need to talk to me

and there’s the many times throughout the day when they need mommy to help them work out their conflicts rather than me expecting them to “just deal with it”.

then there are the days when mommy says, “let’s eat lunch in the living room today and watch a movie while we’re eating!”

I’m learning that though a schedule is helpful and necessary, right now what we need is flexibility and grace….much, much grace.

we are in a difficult season right now, and i have realized that the best thing I can do for my family is to allow us all much grace.

structure without being too structured, and patience for those days when everything seems to be too much.

though this has been a hard season, I am learning priceless things about my kids and about my own heart! And I am learning to delight in them and enjoy every second we share.

God is doing a work in my husband and i, and the fruit we are seeing in our home has been beautiful.

thank you, Lord, that you know what’s best for our family and for our home. Thank you that you can take brokenness and make beauty, and you can take pain and make strength. Thank you that you never leave us or forsake us, and that your Word never returns void.

**i’m linking up today with Lisa jo for five-minute friday


3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 2:46 pm

    Lol… 5 kids will do that to you right?!
    I have seven… and after awhile these real truths are unavoidable.
    T

  2. Sarah Koci Scheilz permalink
    February 17, 2012 4:09 pm

    Amen, friend. We often focus on what matters in the short-term — at the risk of forgetting what matters in the long-term. Visiting from Gypsy Mama today, and sending prayers for you in this tough time!

  3. February 17, 2012 6:34 pm

    I love your photos, so lovely. There is nothing more blessed than extending grace when things are rough… Bless you!

Leave a Reply

