Skip to content

multitudes on mondays: it is well with my soul

February 13, 2012

20120211-161552.jpg

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.
Refrain:
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.
Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

This song has taken on a whole new meaning for me these days.

I used to think it was just a pretty song with nice words.

But now, now it means so much more.

Over the course of the past 6-8 months, I have learned the true meaning of this song.

As God has walked with me through depression, the recent loss of my dad, premenopause, and various other trails in the past year, he has done a tremendous work in my heart.

He has used these circumstances to mold this heart of mine and to give me a new perspective on trials.

20120211-164054.jpg

He has changed my heart to see that though I wouldn’t have chosen the trials that have come my way, I can be content with where he has me.

I can look at my trials as an opportunity to draw closer to him, and an opportunity to trust him—over and over again.

And I can now expect great things from him, knowing that because he has been faithful in times past, he WILL be faithful now—no matter how significant the trial may seem.

I wouldn’t have looked at trials this way 2 years ago, because I didn’t know God the way I know him now.

I hadn’t tasted of his goodness and his faithfulness to the extreme that I have now.

That’s not to say that I don’t struggle with why I have to go through these things….I’m human and I DO struggle.

But the way I handle the struggles has changed.

I now look to him for the strength I need and I trust that he will work things out for my good and for his glory.

20120211-165513.jpg

 

**i’m linking up with Ann today for multitude Monday’s….counting his many blessings.

…little boys, rough and rugged, yet tender and sweet

…silly giggles and little feet racing through the house

…fresh highlights, making me feel young again

…short but sweet emails from him to brighten up my day

…sunshine on a frigid day

…a warm fire, a sweet kitty, a little boy next to me….doesn’t get much sweeter than this

…he’s coming home for dinner…ahhh, how I miss him all day long

…my ipad

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

