Skip to content

giving myself some grace…..

February 12, 2012

20120211-152538.jpg

With all of the recent changes in our home, we are slowly learning a new “norm”. It hasn’t been easy, but we’re getting there.

One thing I’ve realized, though, is that it’s been hard for me to allow myself the grace to take things slowly right now.

There’s a part of me that wants to get back to our routine and carry on like we used to.

20120211-152920.jpg

January was a month of sickness and we are just now getting to where everyone is healthy. Yet, though we are healthy, we are emotionally exhausted. And I do mean exhausted.

No matter how much sleep my husband and I get right now, it’s just not enough.

20120211-153226.jpg

My brain is constantly going and I can’t shut it off for anything. No matter what I’m doing, my brain is going a hundred miles an hour….and it’s exhausting.

Just this morning, I was thinking over this past week, and I realized that I had been pretty hard on myself.

I was frustrated with myself for letting the kids sleep in late, because according to my thinking we should be getting an earlier start on our day.

And I struggled with the fact that I’ve let my kids play more wii and Webkinz than usual…and surely that must be wrong somehow.

20120211-153732.jpg

As I was beating myself up over all of this just this morning, I felt God showing me that I need to show myself some grace.

I need to take a good look at what’s going on in our lives right now, and really evaluate how I’m caring for my family.

And as I did that, I realized that what I’ve been doing–or not doing–in the past few weeks, has come out of love for my kids and out of my care for them.

I realized that it hasn’t hurt them to sleep in…as a matter of fact, it’s probably helped them avoid some of the yucky stuff going around right now.

And so what if we’re not starting school at 9:00 a.m. every day…what’s important is that we are getting school done and the kids aren’t stressed out.

20120211-154251.jpg

As a mom, I think it’s really hard for us to cut ourselves some slack and follow our hearts.

But I’m learning that when I do, I am serving my family in ways they will never forget.

**so, how do you do at cutting yourself some slack?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 4:17 pm

    Patty – Thank you . . . again your words spoke to my heart. I could have written the same words – sickness, not been able to shut of my brain, never enough sleep, too much computer, TV, Netflix, letting kids sleep in, school starting late. Actually been lying here struggling with what I am able to accomplish as ‘mom’ at present – it isn’t much.

    Thank you for reminding me what is important – the love we share, our family, simply being together, the safety of our home, the honesty we share, our belief in God. . . the rest will come. Actually I think as I give myself more grace – as I allow myself to follow my heart not my ‘expectations’ it will all actually come a little easier. Thank you!

    • February 12, 2012 5:00 pm

      Joy…thank you so much for your comment….”as I allow myself to follow my heart and not my expectations”…I can not tell you how I needed that today.

  2. February 16, 2012 6:41 pm

    I have been reading through a lot of blogs…searching for I am not sure what! Your blog is sweet and blessed my spirit right away. I have been really hard on myself the past couple of days. SO I needed encouragement. The pictures are beautiful, do you take them? I am new to the blogging world @ beyondchristianplatitudes….I am praying that I will eat the manna of today and be full…Blessings to you and yours…

Leave a Reply

