Skip to content

Psalm 139

February 8, 2012

Psalm 139:1-7

1 O LORD, you have searched me and known me!

You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar.

3 You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.

Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.

You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?

As I was reading in psalm 139 this morning, I was struck by verses 1-7….

I’ve read this passage numerous times and was blessed by the realization that nothing takes God by surprise….

However, today when I read it, my experience was different.

Today it hit me that “he hems me in behind and before, and lays his hand upon me”.

I mean, think about that……he hems us in behind and before.

That means that not only does he go before us and prepare the way for us to go, BUT he is also behind us, covering our back, if you will.

As I think of this passage in relation to what I’m currently walking through, it puts things in a new perspective….

God isn’t surprised by the trials I walk through.

And not only that, but he has gone before me to prepare the good works and the lessons that I am going to learn along the way.

And as I walk through the fire, he is behind me—with his hand on me—not leaving me even once along the way.

What a beautiful reminder this morning that as I go through my day, and walk through this current season of trial and pain, he is going before me AND behind me, and his hand is on me the whole time.

***i’m linking up today with Walk with himWednesday’s,  word filled Wednesdays

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 6:27 am

    Patty – God has been reminding me of this Psalm all week. Every way I turn I seem to run into it . . . not a coincidence. Thank you for again encouraging me to see God in my storm. Blessings

  2. February 8, 2012 8:27 am

    Joy,
    I am so glad that God met you through this post…he is so faithful to meet us right where we are. Thanks for stopping by my blog today…..

  3. February 8, 2012 9:00 am

    Oh Patty ~ He is omnipotent. He knew and He knows. He is with you through the trial and the fire. When the fire has been put out look at Him. Those are ashes on His shoulders because He was right there with you. He wraps us up in His arms and loves us so much sometimes it hurts to think about.
    Another great post … thank you!!
    Praying that you are strengthened during this time,
    Felecia

  4. February 8, 2012 9:01 am

    Beautiful and powerful lesson from God’s Word. Thanks for sharing.

  5. February 8, 2012 3:34 pm

    Amen, He walks right beside us, and carries us, when we cannot carry ourselves.

  6. February 8, 2012 3:35 pm

    just stopping by to say hello! Have a blessed day! Love, Traci

Leave a Reply

