Skip to content

The heart of winter

January 31, 2012

20120131-212455.jpg

The signs of winter are all around and there are more cloudy days than there are days filled with sunshine.

The grass is dead and the trees are bare, and everywhere I look I see the affects of this cold, dark season.

20120131-212720.jpg

There are many days when my heart matches the gloominess of what I’m seeing outside. Days when I feel dry and empty and I just can’t seem to see the light through the clouds.

It’s on those days when I have to remind myself of this one very important thing…..

20120131-213258.jpg

All of life is a choice…..on those days when the gloom seems determined to rule my day, I can CHOOSE to see the Sun through the dark clouds.

On the days when I am dry and empty, I can CHOOSE to drink from the well of Living water and be filled.

20120131-213736.jpg

He promises that anyone who is thirsty can come to him and he WILL be filled….

And the water that he gives will never run dry….. one drink from this Well, and we will never thirst again….

20120131-214422.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 10:49 am

    Love your post, Patty … and just think of the sleet and the snow as His living water that is frozen and awaiting to be melted to nourish you when you need it. I don’t know where that came from but I kinda like it! 🙂
    I’m glad I met you today.
    Many Blessings,
    Felecia

    • February 1, 2012 11:07 am

      Felecia,
      Thank you for commenting on my blog. I loved the image you shared of His living water being frozen and ready to be melted when I need to be nourished…what a beautiful thought. And isn’t that just like God to give us what we need exactly when we need it…..
      Thanks for stopping by today…..

  2. February 1, 2012 8:08 pm

    All of life is a choice…..on those days when the gloom seems determined to rule my day, I can CHOOSE to see the Sun through the dark clouds.

    On the days when I am dry and empty, I can CHOOSE to drink from the well of Living water and be filled.

    This part really resonated with me…thank you for this word!

    • February 1, 2012 9:02 pm

      Alida,
      I am so glad that you were blessed by this post…..God is so faithful to give us what we need when we need it. God bless you….

Leave a Reply

