Skip to content

Our kids belong to God

January 21, 2012

if there’s one thing I’ve learned this past week is that ultimately our kids belong to God.

We can do our best to love them, train them, and sacrifice for them, but we can not determine the  outcome.

We can spend time with them, buy them gifts, and express our love for them in a number of ways, but again, ultimately they belong to God.

When my daughter walked out last Sunday, I spent hours trying to figure out where we went wrong.

I wracked my brain trying to think of what I could’ve done differently.

I know I’m not a perfect mom.

I know that because she was my first, I messed up a.l.o.t.

However, we did our best.

My husband and I worked hard at winning her heart, and we talked about the gospel together regularly.

We gave her consequences when she needed them, and we gave her freedoms when we felt was was ready for them.

She fought us tooth and nail when we tried to give her input, but we didn’t stop.

No, we loved her the best way we knew how.

We sought godly counsel when we didn’t know what the heck we were doing, and we tried to draw her out when she was withdrawn.

What it all boils down to is this: our kids belong to God.  He calls us to steward them well and to raise them in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

But he doesn’t promise that they will take our years of training and apply all that they’ve learned to their lives.

I’m so thankful that He can do way more than we can ever dream or imagine….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

