Skip to content

Walk with Him Wednesdays….savoring a weekend of love

January 11, 2012

20120110-154913.jpg

This past weekend, I had the distinct pleasure of getting away with my man.

We booked a room at a nearby hotel, and yet felt as though we were miles away from home. This hotel was a resort/spa type of place and the rooms were AMAZING!

20120110-155130.jpg

We spent most of Friday shopping and just enjoying the gift of being together.

20120110-155257.jpg

On Friday evening, we ate dinner at a lovely little Italian restaurant and then came back to our room, only to find that the staff had come in and turned our bed down, left robes and slippers by the bed, and had a plate of huge, homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for us on the counter, along with cold milk.

20120110-155610.jpg

We totally felt pampered. And did I mention the double hot tub that sat in our huge bathroom? Oh yeah, it was NICE!

20120110-155801.jpg

While I totally loved the pampering, I was more enamored with the man God has blessed me with.

As I look back over my life, and think back to 20 years ago, I can hardly believe where God has brought me.

Back then, I was hardly a godly woman. My life was filled with ME.

It was all about me.

And I thought that I needed anything and everything else to make me happy.

But what I didn’t realize, was that the One thing that could make me happy, was the One Who I had been running from.

I was raised in the church, graduated from a Christian school, and had wonderful godly parents.

But I thought I needed the world.

Through many trials and hard circumstances that followed my poor choices, God finally brought me to my knees.

He opened my eyes to the gospel and these eyes that were once blind can now see.

20 years ago, I would never have imagined being married to a wonderful man of God. And I wouldn’t have imagined having 5 beautiful kids.

So as I sat across from this wonderful man of mine, I was lost in the wonder of it all.

20120110-160628.jpg

I know I don’t deserve him, but I am so thankful to God for giving him to me and for allowing us to have this past weekend away.

God is beyond faithful, and every day through every season of life, he has become even sweeter to me than the day before.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 5:42 am

    It’s so refreshin to read of someone actually taking the time to spend time with and appreciate their partner! Too many people spend so much time complaining about their spouse, wondering how they left romance so far in the past. These days it almost seems a foreign concept to be with someone 10+ years and still keep that spark going! Thanks for re-instilling hope in the human capacity for limitless love 🙂

Leave a Reply

