Skip to content

a new definition of love…

December 12, 2011

M

y definition of love has changed so much from what it used to be.

used to be that i saw love as that “feel good all the way down to my toes” kind of feeling when that special someone would look my way and smile.

but i’ve realized lately how much my perspective — and definition of love–have changed.

i don’t know if it’s because i’ve recently lost my dad or what, but my mind has been on this so much lately that i wanted to share it with you.

~Love is in the way my sweet husband spends his sunday afternoon grocery shopping so that i have one less thing to worry about today.

~Love is a good friend (who also happens to be a new friend) buying me the very worship cd that blessed her so much after she lost her own dad just a few short months ago.

~Love is found in a sweet friend sacrificing her time to come and take me grocery shopping in the week leading up to my dad’s death so that i wouldn’t have to do it alone.

~Love is found in the sweet, caring emails from friends who just wanted to let me know they were thinking of me and praying for me.

~And love is in God leading those friends to send those emails on days when i needed them the most.

~Love is found in an amazing husband who monthly sits with me and our pastor/friend as our friend encourages me and helps me find God in the midst of the chaos that has made up my life for the past 6 months or more.

~Love is found in sweet friends who selflessly brought meals to us in the week following my dad’s death.

~And love is found in a very dear friend bringing our family lunch the day my dad died–and not taking NO for an answer.

I could go on and on, but i’m sure you get the picture, right?

love is so much more than a good feeling.

love is an action.  and love is intentional.

love isn’t always pretty–or easy.

but for me, now that i can see past the “frills” of love, love has a much deeper and richer meaning to me.

seeing love for what it really is can bring healing to a marriage and mend friendships.

seeing love for what it really is can push us weary mommy’s to go that extra mile to love that “unlovable” child on the hardest of days.

and most importantly, looking at the ultimate expression of love–Jesus dying on the cross–we are able to see again that love is an action.  Jesus death wasn’t a “feel good all over” kind of thing.

No, his death was love in action, and because of his perfect expression of love, we can be confident in his love for us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

