Skip to content

6 weeks…

December 9, 2011

T

oday marks 6 weeks since my dad passed away.  to be honest, i can’t even believe it’s been that long already.

for me, time has never been so surreal.

as i look back over the past 6 weeks, i honestly can’t remember much.

i know that i don’t feel as numb as i did in those early weeks following dad’s death.

and though the tears still come without warning, they aren’t coming as often.

i can look at pictures of him now and not resent alzheimers for taking my dad away.

i recently started reading a book by John Piper called The Misery of Job and the Mercy of God.

this book is divided into poems based on the book of Job, and the photography is amazing.

God has been using this book to speak some beautiful truths to my heart.

as i was reading about the devastation that Job experienced in losing his family, i was blown away by Piper’s interpretation of Job’s response.

Job didn’t blame God for all that he had lost.

He didn’t accuse God for allowing these terrible things to happen to his family.

but rather, Job praised God.

Job praised God and thanked God for allowing his wife to be spared from the terrible boils he had all over his body.

rather than curse God for the loss and excruciating pain he was experiencing, Job sought God and asked God to show him what he could learn from all of this.

and God spoke to Job’s heart and helped him to see that God allowed all of this to happen so that Job could know God more.  and so that Job could see what he is when all he has is God.

God has kindly been using this book almost as a balm for my hurting heart.

he is helping me to see his kindness towards me and towards my dad.  it was kindness on God’s part to take my dad home to heaven, where he is now whole and happy once again.  where he will never know sadness or pain ever again.

and it is God’s kindness towards me that i am learning more about my wonderful Savior as i am going to him for the healing that i so desperately need.

God is good—all the time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 8:05 pm

    It’s amazing how God is near and comforts us in our days of darkness. I lost my Dad December 29, 2005 due to a massive heart attack. He had just turned 50 in October. I miss him each day but the pain isn’t as severe as those earlier days and weeks. I thank God that my dad received Christ and loved Him! God is an AMAZING God that hears our cries. In Jeremiah 31:3 it says, ” He has turn my mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow”. This is my daughter’s verse because on December 29, 2008 she was born. God is so AWESOME!!!
    I appreciate you sharing your heart and am praying for comfort and joy through this healing process.

Leave a Reply

