Skip to content

a week ago today….

November 8, 2011

I

can hardly believe that it was only a week ago today that i attended my dad’s funeral.

this may sound wierd, but time seems to be moving so differently for me now than it did before my dad died, just a week and a half ago.

i can’t seem to remember what day it is, and i can barely remember what i did this morning, let alone last week.

i remember holding my dads hand for the last time,  just under two weeks ago, but it seems like it’s been forever.

the pastor/friend of ours who spoke at my dad’s funeral did an amazing job of sharing the gospel.

he made it very clear the importance of knowing Jesus and living your life for him.  and he clearly defined the ultimate sacrifice that Jesus made for us when he gave his life on the cross.

the service was full of non-believers, and i prayed that many hearts would be touched, that seeds would be planted, and lives changed.

my mom shared with me just the other day that my grandma, whom i always thought of as a non-believer, told my mom that she really enjoyed the pastors message.  she even went so far as to say that the pastor did an excellent job of explaining the gospel and how to surrender your life to Jesus.

while i know that my grandma saying those things doesn’t guarantee that my grandma has given her life to Jesus, but it does confirm that a seed was planted.

just knowing that a seed was planted at his funeral would make my dad so happy.  because he spent his life sharing Jesus with everyone he knew.

No comments yet

Leave a comment