Skip to content

the chains are gone….

November 7, 2011

D

uring worship yesterday morning, our church sang the song Amazing Grace, My Chains are Gone by Chris Tomlin.  i’ve always like this song, but it now has a new meaning to me.

especially the chorus,

My chains are gone
I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy rains
Unending love, Amazing grace

My oldest daughter sang this song at my dad’s funeral just last week.  but it wasn’t until i heard it yesterday that the truth in those words really hit me.

for nine years now, the “chains” of alzheimers have had a hold on my dad.

little by little those chains tightened their grip, squeezing out more of the dad that i once knew, and making him  a shell of the man he used to be.

but on October 28, when Jesus called my dad home, those chains were broken.

and my dad was set FREE.

our God and Savior ransomed my dad.

and God’s mercy continues to reign, with endless love and amazing grace for those of us Dad left behind.

what a beautiful picture i now have in my mind….a picture of my dad, running into the arms of Jesus.

and while he’s running, the chains are falling off of him.

and he’s finally free.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

