Skip to content

alzheimers lost the battle….

October 28, 2011

s

omething beautiful happened ths morning.

at 7:07 a.m. my dad walked into the arms of Jesus.

and alzheimers lost the battle.

dad went peacefully with no pain.  the nursing staff had just been in to check on him a few minutes before, and when they came back in he was gone.

i’ve seen God’s hands all over my dad’s last days.

last week, God allowed us to have a sweet time with my dad, with each of my kids having a chance to tell papa good-bye.

God allowed me the sweet assurance of knowing that my dad knew i was there as he reached out for my arm when i leaned down to hug him.

God graciously allowed my brother to get there yesterday just in time to tell my dad good-bye.

my sweet uncle (dad’s brother) was able to have some sweet time with my dad yesterday as well, and was able to tell him good-bye.

i have been praying for years now that God would allow my dad to pass away in his sleep without any pain, which is exactly what happened.

it’s so wierd, this grief thing that i am feeling.  on the one hand, i am so happy for my dad that he’s happy and whole once again, and most of all HE IS WITH JESUS, which is something he’s always longed for.

and yet, on the other hand, there’s this deep sadness and sorrow over dad being gone.

it hurts to know that i won’t be able to hold his hand again or rub his hair off of his forehead.

the memories keep flooding through my mind and the tears never seem to end.

right now, the memories are of the long 9-year journey we’ve been through with alzheimers disease.

but i know that someday the memories will be of the good times, the sweet and fun times that i had with my dad, my hero.

but right now it hurts.  a.l.o.t.

one thing i can say is that alzheimers didn’t win.

my dad won.

and the prize is eternity with Jesus.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 11:22 am

    So sorry for your bittersweet loss, Patty.

  2. October 28, 2011 12:22 pm

    What hope to know that he is face to face with the Savior and will never know anymore pain or sorrow! I’m praying that you’ll experience deep peace in the midst of suffering, Patty. Thank you for sharing your heart in this post!

  3. allison permalink
    October 28, 2011 12:44 pm

    thank you for sharing. i will be praying for you.

  4. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    October 28, 2011 3:32 pm

    Patti, Andy and I are sorry for you loss. But the peace that comes with knowing that your dad is finally with his Lord and Maker is the greatest blessing, the greatest outcoming from the years of suffering. May your deep and abiding faith bring you peace at this time and through the years to come.
    Hugs, Grammy

  5. Hanna permalink
    October 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    Patty, my heart aches for you as this feeling is so fresh and raw. I cry with you right now, though I know full well the joy of the hope of a new body and the glory of being with the one who took the cross for him.

    Blessings, Patty, to you and peace in your heart. Love, Hanna

Leave a Reply

