Skip to content

called to follow….

October 12, 2011

I

‘ve been reading a lot of posts lately about our calling as mommy’s.  just the other day, i read this amazing and heart provoking post from The Gypsy Mama.

the one comment that really stood out to me was this one by angie smith:

“Assuming God is calling you to do something, you will fail by being disobedient, not by a lack of success at the task.” ~ What Women Fear by Angie Smith

that comment was profound to me.  mainly because i can easily feel like a failure as a mommy.

i can feel like i shouldn’t even bother “trying” to be consistent with my kids, because i will just mess up again and cause my kids to think i’m a hypocrite.

or i’ll think things like, “i’ve already failed to correct them for that numerous times, so i should just let it go.”

after reading lisa-jo’s post, i began to really think about my role as a mommy.

first of all, i was called to be a mom.  plain and simple.  God has given me 5 beautiful children along with the awesome task of teaching them His ways.

and because i am called to be a mommy, God also calls me to obdeience—to Him.

he calls me me train them up in his ways and to bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

does he call me to do this perfectly?

not.at.all.

as a matter-of-fact, he promises in his Word that his grace is sufficient for me, and that his Word contains everything we need for life and godliness.  everything.

even the ability and the strength to raise our kids.

“Assuming God is calling you to do something, you will fail by being disobedient, not by a lack of success at the task.

So friends, as mommies, we don’t need to fear a lack of success in our parenting.  if we are faithfully obeying the Lord by raising our kids according to his ways, we’ve already succeeded!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 2:50 pm

    Amen, amen, amen!

Leave a Reply

