Skip to content

because of Him, i am ENOUGH…..

October 4, 2011

i

t’s only tuesday,and already this week,  there’s been a great deal of temptation for me to feel as though i’m inadequate.

september was a bit crazy around here, with me traveling two weeks out of the month and then dealing depression on top of that.

so this week was our “get down to business” week.

this was our week to jump back into our school routine —which i don’t feel was very well established before september came around—and i had high hopes for how smoothly things would go.

needless to say, things have NOT gone smoothly.  not at all.

no.  instead, i have been dealing with disobedience right and left and total and complete chaos.

and i have found myself believing the many lies that have come my way:

“you’re not a good mommy.”

“you’re not being consistent–again.”

“God is disappointed in you because you’re commonly characterized by being inconsistent.”

“you’ll never be a faithful mom, training your kids the way God wants you to.”

“you’ll never be good enough to please God in your parenting.”

….and the list goes on.

and then today, in his kindness, God brings me this beautiful post written by Holley Gerth.

as i read her beautiful post, i could feel God using it to speak right to my heart.

he reminded me that because of what Jesus did for me on the cross, I AM ENOUGH.

that even though i fail as a mom over and over again, because of what Jesus did, I AM ENOUGH.

he reminded me that my kids don’t need a perfect mom.  no.  they need a mommy who is desperate for Jesus and is aware of how weak she is without him.

he reminded me that i am his and he is mine and that i am justified, righteous, and declared “forgiven.”

you see, i will never get it all right, and neither will you.

but, because of what Jesus did, WE ARE ENOUGH.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 7:43 am

    I love what you say in closing…”they need a mommy who is desperate for Jesus and is aware of how weak she is without him.” My mom was a wonderful mom, but now that she is gone, the one thing that stands out to me most is her love and example of loving Jesus! 🙂 I know that the Lord pouring out through you will shine to their hearts and He is making you the mommy he wants you to be…giving you insights into each moment, each child, and leading you to shine His heart to them in even the simplest of moments. The light of His glory is shining on you! And He will accomplish it all as we yield… 🙂

    Pam

  2. October 7, 2011 2:01 pm

    Oh, girl, I’ve had one of those weeks too. So glad we can share the journey together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

