Skip to content

light at the end of the tunnel…..

September 16, 2011

m

y week has been filled with calls to doctors, meetings with friends, hair appointments (i got highlights for the first time ever—never going back to the same old color again!! 🙂  ), and sweet quiet times with my lord.

the many calls to doctors this week wore me down.  it was such a roller coaster ride, let me tell you.  through much prayer and counsel, i have been feeling that the lord is leading me to get have some tests run in order to rule out some health issues before possibly taking an antidepressant for my depression.

i called many doctors who had been referred to me by friends—none of them could see me.  they were either not in my network or i had to have a referral from my family practioner.

after doing some research, i am more convinced than ever that this depression is either being caused by or seriously affected by severe hormonal imbalance.  i am the poster child for perimenopause, and yet, alot of my symptoms are also characteristic of thyroid dysfunction.  my rapid weight changes are a huge pointer to that.  one day my weight is normal, the next day it’s 7 pounds HIGHER.  no joke.  i know it’s water weight, but it’s annoying nonetheless.

i was feeling very discouraged by all of the dead ends that i seemed to be facing, but on a whim, i decided to call my family practioner.  i’ve been with this guy for 11 years and highly respect him.  he’s a believer, a man of integrity, and he doesn’t just throw out meds without having a good reason for doing so.  he’s seen us through many health issues within our family and has proven to be trustworthy time and time again.

much to my surprise, his nurse told me that he would definitely be willing to test my nutrient levels, my thyroid, and probably any other tests i might need to get to the bottom of this.  i almost fell over.  i can’t believe i called him last.  but, i just figured that because my gynie wouldn’t test me for those things that he wouldn’t either.  i was wrong!

i haven’t completely thrown out the possibility of taking the antidepressant…however, i do know that there’s something at the root of the depression and i would like to figure that out before taking the meds.  if we do all of this testing and find out my thyroid is normal and i’m not defficient nutritionally, then i will revisist the antidepressant idea.

i was able to get an appointment in 2 weeks and i will be sure to let you know how it goes.  my prayer is that God would give my dr. wisdom and discernment and that whatever is going on would be crystal clear to my dr.  not many doctors will visit the idea of premenopause, or the possibility of using natural supplements as a means of support, so i’m also praying that my dr. will be open to that as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    September 17, 2011 2:47 pm

    Keep me posted on the tests and results!

  2. September 17, 2011 10:31 pm

    I will pray that you can find the answer to your medical struggles. I went through something similar about 15 years ago and it was such a comfort to finally find answers. I think the fear of the unknown is the worst. Sending prayers your way.

Leave a Reply

