Skip to content

i CAN be satisfied in Him….

September 14, 2011

w

ith the craziness of my life lately, between depression, raging hormones, and just everyday stuff, my faith has stayed strong.  i have no doubt whatsoever that God is going to deliver me from this trial—eventually, in his perfect time.

however, even though my faith has stayed strong, i have struggled with getting through each day.  i have found myself in despair, wondering if i’ll ever be truly happy again and feel somewhat normal.

i have gone down the road of wondering if this season is going to last for 10 more months, or even 10 years—neither of which appeal to me.

as i met with a sweet friend yesterday, i was shocked to hear how similiar our stories are.  she’s been where i am, and now she’s on the other side of it, using her experience to help encourage me.

one thing that struck me during my time with her was a comment she shared from the book Depression: A Stubborn Darkness.  in the book, ed welch shares that though depression doesn’t have to become our friend, we can however, learn to embrace it.

embrace it?!  now who on earth would want to embrace depression, right?  that was my first thought.  until we read on.

welch goes on to explain that rather than trying to get rid of depression, we should embrace it as a season where God is trying to teach us something.  when we look at it that way, we can look forward to what God’s going to do in us through our trials.

does that mean that we’ll enjoy the trial?  uh, no.  not at all.

but it does mean that once we surrender our will to the Lord and allow him to have his way in us, rather than us resisting what he’s trying to do, we will be positioned to receive great things from the lord.

1 peter 5:10 says,

and after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

what wonderful promises we can find in that one verse alone.

God promises that after we have suffered he will restore us.  to me, that means that someday, i will feel normal again.

God also promises that he will confirm me.  i take that to mean that he will again remind me of his great love and faithfulness–that i will walk out of this season more aware of his amazing love than ever before.

God promises to strengthen me.  and i believe that he will.  i can simply look back to other dark seasons of my life and see how much stronger i am now because of what i learned in those seasons.

God will establish me.  i take that to mean that he will use this dark season to make me more of who he wants me to be.  to establish my identity in him.

(As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness ~Psalm 17: 15)

while i wouldn’t have chosen this path for myself, i can look forward to what lies ahead.  i can be sure that God is up to something good and that he is using this season to refine me and make me more like him.

and in the meantime, even on the darkest of days, i can be sure that he will carry me through, because his word promises that he will never leave me or forsake me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

