Skip to content

enjoying my most precious gifts: my children

August 27, 2011

l

ast night i did something that i don’t do nearly enough—i played with my kids.

we were sitting around our fire pit eating smores and enjoyng the beautiful weather, when one of the kids suggested that they all play ghost in the grave yard.

after they had played a couple of rounds, one of my kids invited my husband and i to play.  the kids weren’t too surprised when my husband excitedly said “yes”, but you should’ve seen the shocked look on their faces when i agreed to play as well!  they were thrilled.

i had a blast running around in the dark hiding from the “ghost” as i held the hand of one of my younger ones who insisted on hiding with mommy.

it occurred to me that my kids love it when mommy takes the time to play with them.  they’re so used to me taking care of school, the housework, meals, etc, that it’s always a shock to them when i set aside the other things to play with them.

playing with them shows them that i enjoy being around them and that they are important to me.  it also shows them that mommy’s not “all work and no play”.

i also realized last night that i really do enjoy my kids, and that they really are fun to hang out with.  sometimes i lose sight of that after hours of breaking up arguments and reminding them what obedience is.

the sad reality is this–we only have our kids for a short time, and i am learning that the time really does go by fast–too fast.

i could’ve stayed in my comfy chair by the fire last night and not played with my kids, like i was at first tempted to do.

but had i done that, i would’ve missed out on making a precious memory with my kids….

one that they’re still talking about this morning.  🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 6:01 pm

    what a precious memory! I need to do more of that with my kids, too…thanks for sharing!

  2. August 27, 2011 6:24 pm

    Loved this one! They do grow up fast and so keep on enjoying those moments!
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

