Skip to content

a new view on god’s faithfulness…

August 26, 2011

a

s i’ve been on this journey with depression, i am realizing that my view of God’s faithfulness and what that means for me has changed.
saying that he is faithful is no longer just any “easy” thing for me to say when i’m trying to encourage someone else…but rather, it has now become a forceful truth that i am passionate about.  something that i have deeply experienced and have been changed by it’s truth.

i am also learning that God’s promises are true–even if i don’t feel anything when i’m reading the Word.  because i know and believe that God is faithful, then i can be sure that his promises are true and they are NOT based on my feelings.

there are days right now when i want to hide from everybody and just be alone, but at the same time, i don’t like feeling alone.  and it’s in those times that i can remind myself that he is always with me and that there is nowhere that i can hide from his presence.

i haven’t chosen to walk through this season of depression.  i wouldn’t choose it for anybody.  and yet, i am learning the cling to this promise

2 Count it all joy, my brothers,[b] when you meet trials of various kinds, 3for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

because i have experienced God’s faithfulness through past trials, i can be confident that he is going to use this trial to teach me beautiful things.  he is using this to make me stronger and to make me aware of how much i need him.

he is showing me that he loves me deeply and that no matter how i may feel, he is always good.   his goodness isn’t based on my feelings, and his goodness doesn’t change from day to day or even hour to hour–he is good, all the time, without fail.

Psalm 34:8

8Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good!
Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

