Skip to content

update…..

July 21, 2011

i wanted to give a quick update on my dr. appointment last week.  i was very grateful, because i had been praying that my dr. would be attentive and really listen to my concerns and symptoms…and she did!

i shared with her exactly what i’ve been dealing with, and after listening and asking me lots of questions, she decided to order some blood work to rule out a few things.  i have an appointment next monday to have my thyroid checked, as well as some hormone levels, etc.

the doctor did say that she felt that i was dealing with some mild depression, probably caused by my imbalanced hormones.  she prescribed an antidepressant for me, which i have not yet started taking.  i had greg pick up the prescription for me, but once he got it home, i really didn’t have a peace about taking it….at least not yet.

i’ve decided to wait until i get the results of my bloodwork back before i decide what i want to do regarding the medication.  i also want to be sure that i’m not just looking for a quick fix, rather than the “right” fix…if that makes sense.  i have many friends and loved ones who have been helped by antidepressants and it’s been the right choice for them, but i just want to be sure it’s the right choice for me.

my dr. also encouraged me to bump up my exercise from 3 days/week to 4, which is definitely doable, and she wants me to be sure i’m getting some “me” time.

i was a bit disappointed  about one thing my dr. told me.  she told me that the abdominal separation that i’d had for so long wasn’t closed up, which is why my tummy  hasn’t been toning up with all the ab work i’ve been doing.  big bummer.

i had done special ab exercises to help close the separation 2 years ago and had asked the dr. to check the gap for me.  when she checked it, she said it was almost closed.  well, apparently i didn’t keep up the special exercises long enough to completely close the gap and it reopened due to the fact that i’d moved on to pilates and other “normal” ab exercises. **sigh**

i was disappointed to find that out, but was also a bit relieved to know for sure, because i couldn’t figure out why my toning wasn’t paying off.  now that i know, i can go back to my reconditioning dvd and start from square one.  and this time, i will wait until the gap is completely closed before moving on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 8:49 pm

    I’m praying for you, Patty. Thank you for sharing what happened at your doctor’s appointment. And about the ad toning….I think you look beautiful!

    • July 25, 2011 2:29 pm

      thank you Sandra….that was so sweet of you and i appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

