Skip to content

Celebrating Freedom…

July 4, 2011

Happy 4th of July!

we’ve been enjoying a wonderful weekend as a family.  lots of relaxing and not much else.  i love it.

as i’ve been thinking about the meaning of Independence Day, i am so thankful to God for the men and women who serve our country so that we can have the freedoms that we so easily take for granted.  they truly are our heroes.

another hero has been on my mind today as well.

Jesus.

he gave his life as a ransom for our sins so that we could be…FREE.

because of what he did on the cross, i don’t have to fear the wrath of God.  i have access to the Father and freedom from my sin.

but i often forget to live in light of that freedom.

i sometimes find myself discouraged over my struggle with sin and feeling as though i’ll never be good enough.

but it’s in those times that God sweetly reminds me that though i could never be good enough on my own, Jesus was good in my place.

and when God looks at me, he sees Jesus.

he sees Jesus’ finished work on the cross, rather than my ugly sin.

and he looks at me and says, “that debt’s been paid.”

as you celebrate this Independence day, i would encourage you to be reminded of God’s amazing love for you, and to walk in the light of all he’s done for you.

Happy 4th!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 12:41 am

    We had just a nice relaxing 4th of July too. I was blessed to have one of my daughter and her family here for the week; so that was a great blessing. I too love this nation and all it stands for and pray for those who have and continue to protect our freedoms.
    Loved the thought on the Savior too.
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

