Skip to content

with structure somes consistency…….

June 23, 2011

As I have been thinking about what i want our daily summer schedule to look like, it has become obvious to me that not only do we need some structure, but we also need consistency…*gulp*…

Consistency has always been a struggle for me, one that God has faithfully been helping me grow in over the past year or so.

for years, I would repeat myself with my kids, never really requiring obedience from them until i had reached the point of yelling.  i hate yelling.

but last year, the Lord convicted me in this area and helped me to see that my inconsistency with my kids was also sin…against Him.

By not requiring obedience from my kids, I was disobeying God’s command to bring my kids up “in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”

I am so thankful to God for bringing this area of sin to my attention and for helping me to grow in this area.

But believe me, I am definitely a work in progress.

With us being gone on vacation last week and then my oldest being gone this week, things have been a bit abnormal around here (well, a bit more abnormal than usual, i should say.) and I haven’t been doing so hot at being consistent.

i have been doing great at repeating my instructions, grumbling under my breath, and making empty threats though.  😦

i will say though, that i am thankful that the Lord allowed me to see this pattern of inconsistency before it became a normal way of life once again.

that is definitely his grace at work in me.

i know that i can’t be consistent on my own, which is why i need a Savior, every single minute of every single day.

and i am grateful to have a Savior who obeyed perfectly in my place; a Savior who looks at me and sees his Son’s righteousness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 11:22 am

    Yes, I can relate to this one. My inconsistencies was a thorn in my side when raising children. I can’t say I conquered it; but I did become aware and worked on it. I too have grateful for the times that I received help from my Savior when raising children. I couldn’t have done it without Him.
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

