Skip to content

Desperately needing structure!!!!!

June 22, 2011

It has been one of those weeks around here.

You know the kind I mean, right?

The kind where the kids have been fighting…constantly.

The kind where a certain little guy has been tormenting his older siblings…constantly.

The kind of week where I am repeating myself…constantly.

Yeah, THAT kind of week.

You feel bad for me, don’t you?  I sure do.  🙂

All kidding aside, the only thing that hasn’t been constant this week is ME.

I’ve been “winging it” all week, which is something I don’t do well.  Especially when it comes to dealing with constant chaos.

I am definitely a creature of habit, and i THRIVE on structure.

Which is confusing to me, because since i know that i thrive on structure,  why on earth to I stray from it so often?

I know from experience that my kids and I all do better when we know what to expect.  Even the most flexible of schedules can allow for a peaceful running home.

And i desperately need that right now.  D.E.S.P.E.R.A.T.E.L.Y.

Even though it’s summer, having a plan (a.k.a schedule) will allow us to have more peace in our home, because everyone will know what’s coming next, especially me.

Having a plan will give everyone something to do at given times, and will eliminate the age old, “I’m bored”.

And on days when we want to be spontaneous and go out for the day, we can and the schedule will be here when we get back.

I’m not trying to do an advertisement for schedules, honest, I’m not.  I’m just preaching to myself here, because i have spent the past few days trying NOT to pull my hair out as i try to think “on the spot” what to have my kids do next.  and i don’t do well thinking on the spot.  trust me.

so, my plan for tomorrow:  plan a schedule and stick to it.  sticking to it is half the battle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

