Skip to content

Gatlinburg, TN

June 17, 2011

The Smoky Mountains, Gatlinburg, TN

Late last night we arrived home from one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been.

We spent a week in the Smoky Mountains, in Gatlinburg, TN.  It was absolutely beautiful!

For the first time ever, we did a big family vacation with Greg’s side of the family.  There were 5 families, including ours and we all stayed in a big cabin in the mountains.

Did I mention that we had 26 people living under 1 roof for 4 days?  Uh, yeah, that’s right.  🙂

We headed down a few days before meeting up with everybody so that we could do a few things on our own.

We spent 2 days in Lexington, KY, the horse capital of the world.  we visited a horse ranch that housed famous horses that actually raced in the Kentucky Derby.  One of the horses actually starred in the movie, Sea Biscut–he was one of 9 horses that actually played Sea Biscuit himself.

The night before we met up with Greg’s family, we went out for dinner at Olive Garden (can anyone say Y-U-M?!) and then took the kids go-carting, which is one of our favorite things to do as a family.  Matthew (my 4-y/o) was so cute.  He rode with me in the go cart (brave kid–i am a very competitive go cart driver!) and as we would pass by others drivers, he would yell to them, “NO BUMPING!” and would then turn to me and say, “Faster, Mommy!”   He absolutely LOVED riding in the go-carts!

While we had a wonderful time with our extended family, my favorite times were when we did things with just our immediate family.

I felt like God used this vacation to give me a window into my kid’s hearts, and to help me see how very fortunate and blessed I am to have them.

Our last family vacation was 3 years ago, when Matthew was 18 months old.  How different things were then compared to now.  Back then, I couldn’t take my eyes off of Matthew for more than 10 seconds without him wandering off or getting into trouble.  I was constantly worried about his safety because he wasn’t afraid of anything.

This time was different though.  Matthew enjoyed every aspect of the trip and didn’t wander off at all.  He ran around with his cousins and entertained everyone who was around.  And he laughed A-l-o-t.

I’m so thankful that we were able to have this time away as a family; it was a wonderful start to summer, and I look forward to all that God has in store for us.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 9:53 pm

    You have a lovely family. We try to have a family reunion with all of our children and grandchildren every two years. There are a lot of us and it gets interesting; but we treasure the moments. I would love to travel to the area you were in. Maybe someday we can.
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

