Skip to content

basking in the Son…..

June 6, 2011

My sweet kitty, Max, loves to bask in the sun.

Every morning, if the sun is shining, he will meow at one of the kitchen chairs so that i wll move it in front of the patio door, where he will then jump up on it and begin his “sunning” routine.

He will first bathe himself, and then he will roll around on the chair like he’s in heaven.

And if i pet him while he’s sitting in the sun, he will begin to purr LOUDLY and will meow his pleasure to me over and over.

As i was petting him the other day during his “sun” time, i thought of how cute it is to see him find so much joy in basking in the sun.

And it occurred to me that I feel that way when i’m continually basking in the Son…Jesus.

I thought of how sweet it is when i am sitting quietly in the presence of the Lord and just basking in his goodness.

even in times when my heart is heavy and i am desperate for his touch, i can find joy when i am focused on him.

my desire for this summer is to grow in my love and desire for the Lord.

i want to allow him to grow me in ways that i so desperately need to grow.

i want to be surrendered to his will and his way for my life…no holding back.

only at the feet of Jesus will i find the fulfilling, soul satisfying joy that i am longing for.

it’s only at the feet of Jesus that i will find the strength i need to be an authentic, grace filled, and grace giving mama.

have you taken the time to bask in the Son lately?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 2:44 pm

    I loved the thought Bask In the Son. I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t have the Savior Walk Beside Me everyday. It means I am praying a lot for many different things; but also giving great thanks for all I have and enjoy each day. I enjoyed your post and pets are so great at relieving stress and I can just hear that cat meowing.
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

