Skip to content

i’m exercising…

May 31, 2011

I know i mentioned a while back that i wanted to discipline myself to exercise regularly and work really hard on toning this tummy.

well, i am happy to report that i have been exercising consistently.  I actually miss it when i don’t do it.  i know, weird, huh?

anyway, i am thankful that the Lord has helped me to discipline myself in this area.

however, i am a bit bummed that this tummy of mine hasn’t gotten much smaller since i started exercising regualrly.  😦

i am only 9 pounds away from what i weighed 13 years ago when i first got married, so i’m pretty sure that this tummy is just weak abdominal muscles from having my kids.

and it’s disappointing to work so hard to tone it up and not be able to see results.

as a matter of fact, if i’m not careful, i can easily make an idol out of wanting a flat tummy.  okay, maybe not a flat tummy, but a tiny tummy.  a tummy at least 1/2 the size of mine.

i have come across a work out that was put together by a gal who specializes in helping women reconstruct  their abs after having babies.

i’ve emailed this gal (who gets great reviews by the way…and no, it’s not jillian michaels.  she scares me.) and when i explained my tummy and the fact that i had 4 of my kids in under 6 years, she told me that it was not uncommon for my abs to be lax and that it would indeed take some time to see a difference with regular exercise.

she also has a before and after picture of a gal on her website who had a tummy just like mine(i saw the pictures and i couldn’t believe it) and this lady said that after doing this workout routine for 3 months her abs went almost flat.  she lost inches off of her tummy and went down a couple of sizes.

so i’m encouraged by seeing someone who’s been in my situation and seeing that there is hope for a smaller tummy someday.

and in the meantime, i am working on not wanting the smaller tummy more than i want to honor God.  i am thankful that i have a healthy body and that i was able to lose almost 40 pounds in the past year and a half.  that’s no small thing and i need to keep reminding myself of that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 11:35 am

    Great job with the exercising, Patty! You look great, and when I saw you yesterday, you did look even slimmer to me. It’s great to see the way you want to honor the Lord in this area, too.

    I’m sorry we didn’t get a chance to talk more yesterday. David isn’t quite ready to play on his own in the backyard without an adult present, so, I didn’t get to chat with you ladies as much as I would have liked.

    Oh, and back to the cookies. As I was thinking about it, I wanted to ask if you added two whole eggs PLUS two egg YOLKS? I just wanted to ask in case that made the difference. This was a little weird for me when I first made the cookies because recipes don’t normally ask for eggs this way, but it works.

    I hope you have a great day!

    • May 31, 2011 1:43 pm

      thanks sandra!!! i enjoyed seeing you yesterday. i totally understand about us not chatting much yesterday….i look forward getting together w/your family in a few weeks! We’ll have to talk about what i can bring….regarding the cookies, i did do the eggs the way you said. maybe i didn’t mix them long enough or something. either way, they were still delicious and they are now gone! thanks for your kind comments on me looking slimmer….some days i just don’t see it myself, so it’s nice to hear that from others. 🙂

  2. May 31, 2011 12:02 pm

    I have been strugging with this for years. I had 6 children and my tummy is my main area of concern. If you have a link put it on your site.
    Thanks for sharing and blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

