Skip to content

parenting with grace…

May 30, 2011

A few weeks back, a friend of mine sent me a link to check out a book that she highly recommended.  I checked it out and was instantly drawn to this book.

As much as i wanted to buy it, i decided to hold off for a while, hoping to get it from the library eventually.  I also knew my husband would appreciate this, because i knew things had been a bit tight lately and new books weren’t high on our list of needs right now.

so, imagine my surprise when a few days later, another friend emailed me and told me that she’d heard about this great new book and wondered if i would be willing to read it as well so that we could talk about it together.

would you believe it was the same book i had been wanting?

the very same book that my other friend had told me about.

and get this…she offered to bless me by buying me my own copy!

somehow, i get the feeling that God really wants me to read this book.  🙂

so, are you thinking, “tell us what the name of the book is already!”?

Okay, I’ll tell you.

It’s called Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your kids with the Love of Jesus  by Elyse Fitzpatrick.

From reading the description on the back of the book, it’s all about getting past just  giving your kids rules and trying to get them to be good kids.  It’s about giving them grace and being willing to receive that same grace for ourselves.

I am so excited about the opportunity to read this book and i am very grateful for good friends who care enough to recommend books that they know will help me be a better mom.

I think it is so sweet of God to bring this book along right now….he knows the difficult season I’m in right now and how desperate i am for wisdom.

and he knows that my desire for this summer is to grow spiritually and to allow God to renew me and change my heart.

and i think he plans to use this book to do just that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

