Skip to content

Little did i know….

May 22, 2011

Little did i know that parenting would change my life…forever.

Little did i know that the “adjustment” to parenting would last…forever.

Little did i know that my kids would teach me just as much, if not MORE than i teach them.

Before i had kids, i didn’t know what it was like to love someone so much that it hurts.

Before i had kids, i didn’t know what it was like to want to protect someone so fiercely.

I had no idea that the same little bundle that was so warm and sweet the day they were born would be the same little bundle that would break my heart, over and over.

I love my kids more than life itself and there’s nothing I wouldn’t do for them.

But i’ve come to realize that loving them doesn’t necessarily mean making them happy.

And loving them doesn’t mean giving in to them in order to avoid a conflict.

loving them means caring enough about them to give them consequences, even though i know it will hurt.

it means giving them input, even when they don’t want to hear it.

it means sharing the gospel with them day in and day out, even if they’ve heard it a thousand times.

Loving them means extending grace to them, just the way my loving Father extends grace to me, undeservedly.

Loving them means not giving them freedoms that they aren’t ready for, even though they may think they are.

and loving them means crying out to God on their behalf, daily, even hourly.

more than anything, i want to be the mommy that God created me to be.

 i want to accept the fact that i will fail, and that when I do, Jesus will be there to help me up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 8:32 pm

    Love this, Patty. Echos so much in my own heart.

  2. May 25, 2011 7:07 pm

    I loved reading your blog today. You are doing all the right things for the right reason and that is pure love. Children do teach us more than we teach them. We learn many of Christ’s qualities from them. It was a fun read and I will visit again.
    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

