Skip to content

Motivated by honoring God….

May 11, 2011

During my quiet time this morning, i was reading in Shepherding a Child’s Heart and i was struck by a comment Paul Tripp made.

He said that we should want to honor God with our parenting MORE than we want to get our kids in line.

I read that over and over and was struck by the realization that God has brought me to a place in my parenting where I am wanting to honor him with my parenting more than i am wanting to just “deal” with my kid’s behavior.

Getting to this point in my parenting has been a long haul for me.

Consistency has always been a struggle for me, and it has shown up most often in my parenting.

I have often become a repeater, a yeller, or an exremely overwhelmed mom, all because i would choose that route rather than actually addressing the hearts of my kids.

But God’s been up to something in my heart for a while now.

Little by little, he has been bringing me conviction in this area.

He has been helping me to look differently at my parenting, and has helped me to see that I should be parenting with Him in mind, rather than my own ease being my focus.

As i read in Shepherding this morning, I read that as parents, we should be teaching our kids to strive for God’s standards, not just ours.  As a matter-of-fact, if as a mom i have God’s standards as my focus in parenting, then my kids will be learning God’s standards.

Because of my past tendency to be inconsistent in my parenting, I can often feel like i’ve failed too badly to try again. 

I’ve feared that my kids will just be waiting for me to mess up  again, so why would they want to believe me when i tell them that we’re going to be working hard on obeying…them obeying me and me obeying God.

I’ve come to realize that those are just lies from the enemy. 

I was encouraged as I read this comment from Tripp:

We are never painted into a corner from which there is no path of obedience.

I was so encouraged as i read that this morning.

I felt as though God was telling me that He is going to use my failures as a mom to build character in my kids.

And He reminded me that my kids will learn what humility is when i come to them for forgiveness when i fail.

I am so thankful to God for taking me on this journey.

for molding me and reshaping this messy heart of mine.

and most of all, for showering me with grace….his amazing grace.

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    May 12, 2011 2:45 pm

    Patty,

    This recent post at the Gospel Coalition’s website was so helpful to me! After I read it and passed it on via facebook, I remembered your recent posts and wanted to come share it with you as well! I hope it blesses you!

    http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/2011/05/10/parenting-001/

    Also, today Ben sent me this from work and it was a snippet from “Give them Grace” (that book I recently recommended to youI feel like it is just so so so so helpful to think of it the way Elyse describes here:

    http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/2011/05/06/moms-need-to-constantly-pray/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+between2worlds+%28Between+Two+Worlds%29

    Take it for what it’s worth! Appreciate your humble heart and trusting the Lord is giving you grace to love and train those blessings of yours–you know He gives grace to the humble!

    Love,
    Angie

Leave a Reply

