Skip to content

one pound away….

May 3, 2011

i was elated to step on the scales this morning and find that i have lost another pound!! 

i am now only 1 pound away from having lost 40 POUNDs!!!! 

i have been trying to be disciplined with my eating and i’m sure it helps that i am no longer eating dairy.

i have also been exercising more.  i am up to running a mile on my treadmill now.  i never dreamed i’d even be able to run, let alone want to run!  but i actually enjoy it!!

i was thinking this morning about a conversation i had with my doctor about 4-1/2 years ago when my youngest was about 6 months old…..i had asked my doctor what he thought a healthy weight would be for me.  when he told me the number, i remember thinking to myself that i’d NEVER be that size again.

well folks, guess what number i read on the scale today?

….yep, you got it!  I MADE IT!!!!!!!!

I do want to give credit where credit is due here…….I owe every bit of my weight loss success to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

I began my weight loss journey 1-1/2 years ago.

Prior to that, i had 4 babies in under 6 years, and had held onto 10 extra pounds from each of them.

Not to mention the fact that my stomach muscles took a beating, resulting in me having a tummy that has been very hard to tone. 

 i am getting there, slowly but surely, and every time i start to get a bit proud of my toning success, some innocent individual will ask me if i’m expecting……*sigh*

For many years prior to losing the 40 pounds, i struggled with contentment.

I hated my post baby body and i idolized the idea of having a flat tummy and no flab. 

this was a struggle that took many years for me to finally surrender to God, but once i did, God began a work in my heart.

He brought me to me to a place where i began to find my contentment in him and began to see my body as his temple, rather than something i loathed.

through all of that, i finally came to a place where i wanted to lose weight for my health rather than for my appearance.

It was at that time that i began my weight loss journey.  i lost 20 pounds in the first 2 months and then the rest has come off here and there.

So believe me when i say that all of the credit goes to God….because with Him, ALL things really are possible!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 4:04 pm

    That’s wonderful, Patty! And you look great. 🙂

  2. Rebecca permalink
    May 3, 2011 7:53 pm

    Praise Him & Congratulations Friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

