Skip to content

Valuing the kingdom…

April 19, 2011

In my devotion time this morning, i was reading in Matthew 13, and found myself blown away by verses 44-45:

The Parable of the Hidden Treasure

 44“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

The Parable of the Pearl of Great Value

 45“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant in search of fine pearls, 46who, on finding one pearl of great value, went and sold all that he had and bought it.

the ESV study Bible goes on to explain that the parable emphasizes the supreme value of the hidden treasure (the kingdom of heaven), which is worth far more  than any sacrifice one could make to acquire it.

As i was reading this and pondering it, i felt the Lord asking me how much i value the kingdom of heaven.

i thought about it and the more i thought about it, the more i realized what the Lord was trying to show me.

i believe the Lord was showing me that the value i place on the kingdom of heaven should show in everything i do.

in my parenting, my marriage, the way i manage my home…all of it should be affected by the value i place on the kingdom of heaven.

i’m sad to say that i don’t feel as thought i have been living like someone who values the kingdom….at least doesn’t value it very much.

i prayed about this for a while this morning.  i asked God to help me parent in a way that reflects how much i value his kingdom. 

 Having a passion for the kingdom of God should motivate me to train my kids according to God’s Word…God’s standards.

I feel that God used this passage to ignite in me the desire and passion to teach my kids faithfully and consistently about God’s Word.

i feel that He used this passage to help me see the importance of  filling my mind and my heart with Scripture, for “out of theoverflow of the heart, the mouth speaks”.

as i have thought on this all day today, i was reminded of the verse Matthew 6:21 that says, “where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

if my treasure is in the kingdom of heaven, then my heart will be there as well, resulting in a mommy who strives to train her kids in righteousness, even when it’s hard.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

