Skip to content

ap·proach·a·ble

April 13, 2011

 I’ve always considered myself a friendly person, and have always enjoyed being around people.

but it has occurred to me lately that once i put my kids to bed, i become very unapproachable.
for the past couple of weeks, my hubby has had to work late and i have had the bedtime routine by myself. 
sounds easy enough, right?
well, it used to be.
until the past 2 weeks. 
 just around the time that hubby started working late a certain child started getting out of bed…repeatedly.  every night.
and much to my surprise, i didn’t feel all warm and fuzzy inside when i heard this child coming down the stairs.
not at all.
not even close.
as a matter-of-fact, i felt quite the opposite.
i felt mean and grumpy.
i felt as if this child was infringing on MY time. 
i mean, really, can’t i even have 5 minutes of s.i.l.e.n.c.e. ?
 
 that was my thinking.
i felt as though i somehow deserved to have silence after the kids go to bed, forgetting that i don’t even come close to getting what i really deserve, thanks to my Saviour’s saving work on the cross.
the Lord began to bring this heart attitude to my attention last night, as this same little person came down the stairs…again.
the Lord convicted me that, even though this child was disobeying mommy, he still deserved to be treated with love.
and grace.
it was then that i began to realize that i may not be as approachable as i thought i was….not to my kids, anyway.
that was quite a sobering thought.
one that brings tears to my eyes.
when i looked up the definition of approachable, here’s what i found:

ap·proach·a·ble/əˈprōCHəbəl/Adjective

1. Friendly and easy to talk to.
Nowhere in the Bible does it say that i have the right to be unapproachable after 8 p.m.
nowhere.
i want my kids to want to come to me.
i want them to know that i will receive them with love…even if they’re disobeying.
i want them to see mommy as friendly and easy to talk to.
and not just at church, but even moreso at home.
i am so grateful to God for bringing this to my attention.
 i am thankful that He is for me in my parenting and that He wants to help me be the mommy he designed me to be.
and i’m thankful that he is friendly and easy to talk to.  🙂
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 5:39 am

    Thanks for bringing this up, Patty! I so need to work on this with our 4 year old. It’s almost an every night occurrence for him to get out of bed with a need to ask a question, get a drink of water, etc…and I am not always very approachable either.

    Praise God for reminding you of the need to be approachable and sharing it with us so that we can also be reminded that we need to show this kind of love to our children even when they’re disobedient.

    I hope you have a great day!

  2. April 20, 2011 9:06 pm

    Needed to hear this tonight…thank you!

Leave a Reply

