Skip to content

a rough night and a lesson learned…

April 12, 2011

Last night was rough.

 what had started out to be a fun, relaxing evening with the kids turned out to be a stressful, sinful evening for Mom.

Greg wasn’t going to be home for dinner, so i decided to take the kids to Sam’s Club, where we had fun looking around and buying some groceries.

We ended the trip with mommy treating them to big pretzels.

All was well and it looked like it the evening would end on a happy note….until we got home.

I instructed the kids to get ready for bed and then sit down with a video until bedtime.  I then went up to my room to try on some clothes i found at Sams.

Not even 5 minutes after closing my bedroom door, i hear the commotion.  i yell down for them to stop playing around and get back to trying to squeeze myself into a swimsuit that obviously WASN’T going to work out.

then i hear the CRASH. 

followed by the footsteps beating up to my door.

turns out that the kids were running wild through the house (didn’t take a genious to figure THAT out) when one child, who shall remain unnamed, decided it would be funny to knock over our little DVD cabinet.

our cheaply made DVD cabinet that we bought for $25 at Walmart last year.

the very SAME dvd cabinet that was knocked over last year by the very SAME child, who will continue to remain unnamed.

only instead of just one of the doors coming completely off the cabinet, this time BOTH of the doors came off.  you see, once the cabinet is knocked over, the weight of all of the DVDs is to much for the doors, thus causing the screws holding the doors in to come completely out of the cabinet.

while i am scrambling to collect all the DVDs, i am also proceeding to yell at my children, making them aware that if they had been obeying mommy and getting ready for bed, none of this would’ve happened.

at the same time, my mind is racing, and i feel terrible that my poor hubby has to come home and see the broken cabinet.  not something one wants to see when they’re working long hours and counting down the days until tax season is over. 

i manage to temporarily put the cabinet back together, apologize to my kids for yelling at them, and then explain to them the importance of obeying and following intructions.

once they were all in bed, i laid on the couch waiting for hubby to come home.

i was drained. 

exhausted.

frustrated.

overwhelmed.

i lay there replaying in my mind the earlier scenario with my kids, and wondering why i mess up so often in my parenting. 

as i lay there, i began to pray and seek God for wisdom in my parenting.

i began to thank Him that my kids are always so willing to forgive me and that He is too.

i began to realize that the reason i mess up so much is because, like my kids, i am a sinner.

i often get caught up in things (the heat of the moment, etc), and like my kids, i make bad decisions in those moments.(such as yelling)

and i realized then that God can use those mess-ups to remind me of my need for his grace.

my desperate need for his grace.

he can also use my failures to humble me and make me aware that my kids need grace too.

from God.

and from me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 5:50 pm

    Thank you for sharing, Patty. I can definitely relate to the episode that happened at your home with the DVDs. 😦 But praise God for speaking to you through it. 🙂

    • April 12, 2011 6:22 pm

      Hey Sandra, thank you so much for your comment. God is so faithful to give us what we need right when we need it. Some days i doubt my “ability” to be all that He has called me to be, and that’s when i need to remember that i can’t be all that i need to be without him….it’s all about him. I am looking forward to spending some time with your family soon!

Leave a Reply

