Skip to content

Where is my Hope?

April 8, 2011

It’s Friday.  I don’t even know how it got to be Friday already, but it is.

I started out the week totally excited about the Homemakers Challenge to implement one thing into my schedule/routine that i hadn’t currently been doing.

for me, that one thing was exercise.  I had shared earler in the week how starting my day with exercise helps prepare me for my other daily tasks, and motivates me to get things done.

Well, Monday and Tuesday started out great.  i woke right up and hit the treadmill with no problems.  I ran both days and felt great.  I accomplished a lot on those days and felt great about MY accomplishments.

Then Wednesday came and I decided to reward my great efforts with a day off from exercise.  We all like a little reward here and there, right?  I’m sure you can see where this is going, right?

Thursday morning rolled around and I didn’t get to exercising first thing in the morning, but thought about it all day long.  I had plenty of opportunities to go down and hop on the treadmill, but i didn’t feel like it.

As i sat on the couch last night waiting for hubby to get home from a LONG day of taxes (April 18th is almost here!!), i replayed my day in my head. 

I thought of missed training opportunities with my kids. 

I thought of the chores that could’ve gotten finished, but didn’t.

I thought of my grumpy, impatient tone with my kids as they behaved loudly at the dinner table.

And I thought of how I failed my plan to exercise everyday this week.  and with no excuse.

Many thoughts fought for residence in my head as i sat there.  Thoughts that I’m a bad mommy.  thoughts that I struggle so much with inconsistency.  Thoughts of ….you get the picture, I’m sure.

Maybe you’ve even been there.

After indulging in my pity party for a while, the Lord brought a song to my mind.  One that I am sure is familiar to you….

On Christ the Solid Rock

As i sang that song in my mind, I was overwhelmed by the words.  It was as if the words became a calming balm to my weary soul……

“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”
by Edward Mote, 1797-1874

1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

I love the whole song, but verse one was the clincher for me last night:

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

 

I felt as though the Lord was showing me that even though having a plan (a.k.a schedule/routine) is a good thing, a helpful and necessary thing, IF I put my hope in that plan rather than in my Solid Rock, I’m on sinking sand.

And that’s exactly what I had been doing as i sat there on the couch last night.  I had been looking at what I had and hadn’t done. 

i looked at MY accomplishments earlier in the week and compared them to my lack of accomplishments later in the week, and I based my happiness on that comparison.

This is an easy temptation for me.  It is so easy for me to base my happiness on how well I do OR don’t do in any given area.  wether it be following my schedule or consistently training my kids, i can easily base my happiness on how i do in those areas.

But if my Hope is built on Jesus blood and righteousness, then there isn’t even room to compare my righteosness to His…..no way.  When I see what He has done for me, I realize how small I am and how very much I need Him.

When I don’t trust in my own “frame” but wholly lean on Jesus’ name, I realize that I can’t do anything without His help. 

 i realize that wether I end up exercising 2 times or 4 times in one week, my standing before God doesn’t change.

While I know that following a schedule totally serves me and my family, I also know that I need to keep my prespective straight.

I need to remember that it’s Him that i serve and NOT my schedule.

I need to remember that my standing before him doesn’t change based on how consistent I am with my kids or how clean my house is.

So again, it’s Friday and the week is coming to an end.  I didn’t stick to my schedule like i had planned to, but I did learn a wonderful lesson from my heavenly Father and my perspective is back where it should be.

All in all, I’d say a lot has been accomplished.    🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 6:51 am

    How did Friday get here?? I linked the post with my mom schedule in my blog. It is part of my daily planner I made. You can see it here: http://www.thekelleyeight.com/2011/02/february-3in30-week-1.html I also left the answer in a reply to your comment, but I never know who gets a notification, and didn’t want you to miss it 🙂 Have a blessed weekend!

  2. April 8, 2011 1:21 pm

    What a pleasure to read your thoughts (visiting from Studio JRU at (in)courage today…it is wonderful how God speaks to us through so many things each day, and how wonderful how He was concerned over how you felt about your “performance”…

    Blessings on your day and coming week!

  3. Angie permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:43 pm

    I can so easily relate. I was stuck in that pattern a few weeks ago as I dwelled on how I was never going to be a good enough wife–so aware of my shortcomings–and painfully aware that all my good things weren’t really that good.

    I am rejoicing with you tonight as God was so kind to me to lift my gaze off myself and to Him. He helped me see a pattern of self-righteousness and really helped me to look at the truth of the Gospel. I AM indeed a great sinner.

    Thankful, with you, for our Savior!

    (P.S. Somehow I forgot you blogged and haven’t read yours for awhile. Was glad when I remembered tonight!!!)

  4. April 9, 2011 5:18 pm

    Such wonderful thoughts! I love how HE put this song in your heart… just when you needed the reminder. And I love this perspective reminder that I needed too! So happy you joined us on (in)courage to share your heart! 🙂

Leave a Reply

